During my time in the print room at Blenheim I’d discussed where I was looking to take this project and that I was interested in patterns to a graphics student who spoke to me, and very nicely gave me a 15 minute tutorial on how to use a nice little short-cut to creating patterns.
tracetraced
I began firstly by rasterizing my illustration as i was just wanting to play about and get used to it so wanted to quickly trace my image.
If I was to create a pattern to print I would firstly convert a scanned image of my illustration on Photoshop to a threshold image so that the background would be transparent, though illustrator only enables you turn all the pixels that are lighter than the threshold value to white, so you do get some overlapping when making your patterns, but as I’ve learnt that can be avoided by changing the height and spacing of your pattern.

So once I had my image ready It only took a few clicks to create my pattern, and the layout – this one is the hex pattern.
patternhex pattern

By increasing the copies and changing the distance between the repeated images I was able to expand my pattern;
hex sizing

This is an example of the brick pattern option which i was experimenting with the offsets and spacing;
size changingoffset

With this final image you can see how this could easily be converted into a repeat screen print, as you would just have to tessellate the print;
pattern made

Unfortunately my memory isn’t all that great and it took some internet tutorials to jog my memory on the tools to start with but after that I was quickly able to make patterns on the illustrator Cs6 software and now feel even more comfortable with using this software.

