1472241_10152036314194812_1489406379_n

I first began by placing my illustrations where I thought they would fit best together, being careful not to put too much of the same thing next to each other and being aware that when it came to making my pattern the image may need to be altered to appear seamless.


print pattern1image

Using this image I had a play with the pattern tool i previously learnt, to experiment with how I might be able to portray my image.
image1brickrow image1column image1grid image1hex

With the hexagonal patterns I found there was a lot of unavoidable overlapping, which ruled that out straight away.
For the brick patterns they worked well, just required changing the widths and heights so that there wasn’t obvious gaps between the images, however upon doing this I realised this would not create a repeatable pattern that I require so this can be visualised as a wallpaper print. So had a play with my image that I’d prepared for repeat screen printing the pattern.


repeatpatternimage

image2brick

By splitting my original pattern image into 4 sections and moving each corner to the diagonal opposite position I was able to create a repeat pattern image, though using this in the Illustrator pattern tool meant that it didn’t line up, as I wasn’t sure at this point if I would be digitally printing or screen printing as I wanted to ensure I wouldn’t be losing detail, as well as being very aware that I didn’t have long to put this all together and the print room was increasingly harder to get into and didn’t want to leave myself with nothing to hand in, I was willing to work around this if necessary. So I decided instead to created my pattern by using InDesign and repeating my image over and over, though this process was more time consuming I was able to tweak it the way I wanted it, making sure there were no gaps, and that each section of the tree lined up perfectly.

1479679_10152036405334812_1245662308_n

Resulting in my final pattern being this, which I had prepared for digital print in the size i would want in case I was unable to or decided against screen printing. 

finalfinalforprintimage

