using photoshop i made an a3 document, and began placing my illustrations in a way that i felt they fitted well together given their different sizes and shapes.  once i was happy with how full this document was i thne proceeded to the next step of turning it into a repeatable tile.


commposing

in order to make a nice clean repeatable tile i had to take my original file from above and cut it into four equal pieces. easily done on Photoshop using the rectangular marquee tool.
Once i had my four sections i placed them in the opposite corners to their original position so that my outer edges now form the inner cross section.

in order to ensure my pattern flows well and doesn’t look like separate tiles i placed some more bits of littler and cigarette butts over this cross section. Now when it repeats you wont be able to tell where one tile ends and the next begins.

gh

 

final tile:

REPEATTILE

 

